Three physicians from Hospital da Luz in the Board of the Portuguese Society of Cardiology

Three specialists from Hospital da Luz integrate the new board of directors of the Portuguese Society of Cardiology, elected in congress in April 25 for the 2017-2019 biennium. 

The Society, with almost 70 years of existence, is presided by João Morais (director of the Cardiology Service of Centro Hospitalar de Leiria), having as vice-presidents Daniel Ferreira, coordinator of Clinical Cardiology of Hospital da Luz Lisboa, and Marco Costa, from Centro Hospitalar e Universitário de Coimbra.

José Ferreira Santos, cardiologist and clinical director of Hospital da Luz Setúbal, is the new secretary-general of the Society, and Diogo Cavaco, from Hospital da Luz Lisboa, will act as treasurer.

The new management established as priorities for the next two years “the modernization of the Society”, providing it with “more professional structures”, together with medical education, interaction with partners and reinforcement of its position in the European Society of Cardiology.
Moreover, it highlights the commitment towards “the improvement of the cardiovascular health of the Portuguese”, promising to do whatever necessary near the decision-making entities to put the circulatory system diseases at the top of the list of priorities.

In the image above, the professionals from Hospital da Luz: Diogo Cavaco, Daniel Ferreira and José Ferreira Santos.