Isabel Vaz Awarded with Prémio Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo

Isabel Vaz, Luz Saúde CEO, received yesterday the award Prémio Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, granted by Instituto Superior Técnico (IST) to former students which distinguish themselves in their professional and social paths. The award was delivered by the IST president, Arlindo Oliveira, during a ceremony in the noble room of that institution.

This was the second edition of the award Prémio Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, created by IST to honour its former female student, the only woman to have lead the Government of Portugal, promoting her example as an influential figure in society. 

Isabel Vaz won in the category of Role Model (for former students with exceptional paths) and Bárbara Fernandes Simões won in the category of Young Alumni (for recent-graduated with exceptional academic paths), who concluded her mastership thesis in Mathematics and Applications with rate of 19 values (in 20). “They are examples or models to be followed for women attending IST”, highlighted Arlindo Oliveira, in reference to the two distinguished women. “The IST purpose is to attract the best, male or female. Engineering, science, mathematics or physics are not exclusive of men, they are intellectual challenges”, he added, establishing as purpose of the institution “to correct the current situation”, where women are only 30% of the total alumni.

“It is an honour to receive a prize from what I consider my alma mater”, stated, in turn, Luz Saúde CEO, after thanking IST for the distinction. Isabel Vaz dedicated the award to her father, cardiologist in Setúbal, and stressed the role of family in her professional success.

Helena Geirinhas Ramos, coordinator of the IST Gender Balance Committee, took the opportunity to remind that “it is fundamental to attract female talent to engineering, science and technology”.
Teresa Duarte, responsible for the department of chemical engineering, Isabel Vaz area of graduation, recapped the Luz Saúde CEO professional career and stressed the motto that has been guiding her all along: “To lead is to serve”. The decision to grant the award to Isabel Vaz was unanimously taken by a jury integrating professors Luís Oliveira e Silva, Raquel Aires de Barros, Dora Rego, Helena Geirinhas Ramos, Ana Paiva, Ana Póvoa, Isabel Sá Correia, João Ramôa Ribeiro, Maria da Graça Carvalho and José Nuno Canongia Lopes, besides the IST president, Arlindo Oliveira.